NOTICE OF ELECTION

Notice is hereby given that an election will be held in the County of Orange on November 4, 2008 for the purpose of electing governing board members/directors for the following districts:

Community College Districts: Coast (1 Member each, Trustee Areas 2, 3, 4); North Orange County (2 Members, Trustee Area 1 and 1 Member each, Trustee Areas 3, 4); Rancho Santiago (3 Members, Trustee Area 1 and 1 Member, Trustee Area 3); South Orange County (1 Member each, Trustee Areas 1, 3, 6, 7). High School Districts: Governing Board Members for Anaheim Union, Fullerton Joint Union and Huntington Beach Union. Unified School Districts: Governing Board Members for Brea Olinda Unified, Garden Grove Unified, Irvine Unified, Laguna Beach Unified, Los Alamitos Unified, Placentia-Yorba Linda Unified, Saddleback Valley Unified, Santa Ana Unified, and Tustin Unified; Capistrano Unified (1 Member each, Trustee Areas 1, 2, 3, 5); Newport-Mesa Unified (1 Member each, Trustee Areas 1, 3, 6); and Orange Unified (1 Member each, Trustee Areas 2, 3, 6). Elementary School Districts: Governing Board Members for Anaheim City, Buena Park, Centralia, Cypress, Fountain Valley, Fullerton, Huntington Beach City, La Habra City, Lowell Joint, Magnolia, Ocean View, Savanna, and Westminster.

Community Services Districts: Directors for Capistrano Bay, Emerald Bay, Rossmoor, Surfside Colony, and Three Arch Bay. Irrigation District: Serrano Water District (1 Director each, Divisions 2, 3, 5). Park and Recreation District: Directors for Silverado-Modjeska Recreation and Park District. Sanitary Districts: Directors for Costa Mesa, Midway City, and Sunset Beach. Storm Water Protection District: Directors for Surfside Colony. California Water Districts: Directors for El Toro, Irvine Ranch, and Santa Margarita; Moulton Niguel (1 Director each, Divisions 1, 5, 6, 7, Full Term and 1 Director, Division 3, Short Term). County Water Districts: Directors for Rossmoor/Los Alamitos Sewer, South Coast, Trabuco Canyon, and Yorba Linda; East Orange County (2 Directors, Full Term and 1 Director, Short Term); Mesa Consolidated (1 Director each, Divisions 1, 2, 3). Independent Water District: Orange County (1 Director each, Divisions 3, 4, 6, 7). Library Districts: Trustees for Buena Park and Placentia.

To qualify for office, a candidate shall be a registered voter in the district and trustee/area/division. Declaration of Candidacy forms may be obtained in the office of the Registrar of Voters, 1300-C South Grand Avenue, Santa Ana, beginning July 14, 2008, and must be filed in that office no later than August 8, 2008, 5:00 p.m. To obtain additional candidate filing information, call the Orange County Registrar of Voters, Candidate and Voter Services Section, at (714) 567-7600.

Appointment to each elective office will be made, as prescribed by California Elections Code Section 10515, in the event there are no nominees or an insufficient number of nominees for such office and a petition for an election is not filed within the time period prescribed by said Section 10515.

Notice is hereby given that the polls for said election will be open from 7:00 a.m. until 8:00 p.m. All ballots cast in said election will be counted centrally at the Registrar of Voters office, 1300-C South Grand Avenue, Santa Ana.

Notice is further given that the vote-by-mail ballot processing will begin on October 6, 2008, and will continue Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. until the election is certified on or about December 2, 2008. The vote-by-mail ballot process is open to the public at 1300-C South Grand Avenue, Santa Ana.

Notice is further given that the manual tally of specific precincts will begin on November 5, 2008, at the Orange County Registrar of Voters office, 1300-C South Grand Avenue, Santa Ana.

Notice is further given that a report on the results of the 1 percent manual tally will be included in the certification of the official canvass of the vote.

Dated this 18th day of July, 2008.

Neal Kelley
Orange County Registrar of Voters